top of page


The Carl Schillig Scholarship is given to a student with a minimum 2.3+ grade point average who exemplifies Carl’s spirit through participation in school, sports, community, and church activities. Each recipient receives a $4,000 scholarship over 4 years, contingent on satisfactory performance.

Deadline for applications various by school.  See links above for details.

The Carl D. Schillig Memorial Scholarship was first awarded in 1998 to graduates of Pleasant Valley High School. In 2002, the same scholarship was also extended to graduates of Bettendorf High School.

Amount of Scholarship

The scholarship provides the student selected $4,000. This sum will be granted over a four-year period in the amount of $1,000 per year. The initial $1,000 will be sent to the college of the recipient's choice when the following conditions are met:
The Carl D. Schillig Memorial Fund Inc. is notified of official first-semester enrollment as a full-time student (minimum of twelve semester hours).

The complete address of the office and college receiving the funds is provided. To receive the following years' money, the recipient must provide the same information as listed above, a short narrative that summarizes future plans and how the previous year went, and a record of grades. To retain eligibility for the scholarship, the recipient will maintain a minimum cumulative G.P.A of 2.0 (4.0 scale).
Enrollment in a two-year community college is acceptable. Recipients attending a community college are limited to a $2,000 scholarship ($1,000 per year). If the student graduates from a two-
year college and enrolls in a four-year college, the scholarship can be extended for two additional years for a total of $4,000.


Past and Current Scholarship Recipients

2023 Asvantth Paranidharan, Iowa State University | Avery Franzman, Carthage College | Anna Skoropad, Iowa State University

2022 Maylee Callahan, Bradley University | Tarun Vedula, University of Wisconsin | Ava Kwak, University of Iowa

2021  Nathan Boelyn, St. Ambrose University | Chase Mason, St. Ambrose University | Maleigha McCulley, Kirkwood College

2020 John Myers, Wartburg College | Mitchell Winterlin, University of Iowa | Camila Espinoza, University of Iowa

2019  Ashlee Kwak, University of Iowa | Ty Callahan, Creighton University | Carter Hoskins, Luther College

2018  Grace D'Antico, Loras College | Jackson Stamper, Creighton University | Caleb Arnold, Iowa State University

2017  Alyssa Gallagher, Miami University of Ohio | Kaitlyn Evans

2016  Harrison Guenzler, Oral Roberts University | Sarah Rasing, University of Northern Iowa
2015  Andrew Sass, University of Northern Iowa | Claire Schwarz, Missouri State University
2014  Kierstyn Feld, Iowa State University | Tyler Henson, Maryville University-St. Louis
2013  Paul Conway, Loras College | Madison Ruge, Drake University
2012  Anna Fry, University of St Thomas graduate | Allison Witters, Iowa State University graduate
2011  Megan Hayes, Coe College graduate | Jenna McGee, Luther College graduate
2010  Ryan Flynn, Drake University graduate | Emily Misak Jorgensen, Iowa State University graduate
2009  Matthew Rubins, Luther College graduate | Lauren Flahive, Iowa State University graduate
2008  Charles Paul, Iowa State University graduate | Steven Cavanaugh, Iowa State University graduate
2007  Jordan Lang, Luther College graduate | Marcus Cavanaugh, University of Iowa graduate
2006  Kelsey Bulat, Iowa State University graduate | Matt Shaw, Evangel University (Missouri) graduate
2005  Isaiah Klavitter, Iowa State University graduate | Christopher Bassler, Simpson College graduate
2004  Erik Rheinhart, Iowa State University graduate | Sara Hampton Honn, St. Ambrose University graduate
2003  Craig Frericks, Central College graduate | Abigail Gierke, University of Iowa graduate
2002  Ashly Overturf, University of Iowa graduate | Kristin Brown Phillips, University of Michigan graduate
2001  Robert Kline, Iowa State University graduate
2000  Philip Grothus, University of Northern Iowa graduate
1999  Gregory Bauer, University of Iowa graduate
1998  Jeff Paul, Augustana College graduate


The purpose of this scholarship is to assist students who have the ability to succeed in college but have academically achieved in the approximate middle one-third on their graduating class and may be less likely to receive financial assistance in the form of scholarships.

Within this general purpose, the Schillig Family requests the following guidelines be considered in awarding this scholarship:

  • The recipient must be a graduating senior at Pleasant Valley Community High School or Bettendorf High School.

  • The recipient must have a minimum cumulative G.P.A. of 2.3 after seven semesters of high school.

  • The recipient will exemplify Carl Schillig's spirit and interests.

The activities Carl was involved in include:

  • School: Class officer, Peer Helper

  • Athletics: Swimming, cross country, track

  • Community: 16th Iowa Infantry (Civil War Re-enactors), Cornbelt Running Club, Newspaper Carrier, Whitey's Ice Cream employee

  • Church: Altar server, lector, youth ministry

It is not the family's intention to have the scholarship winner(s) involved in these identical activities, but it is the family's intention to have the scholarship awarded to a well-rounded individual who is involved with school, community, and church activities.


Application & Selection

Students interested in applying for this scholarship will pick up an application form in the high school guidance office or on the school website.

At the end of the application deadline, the high school principal and head counselor will determine semi-finalists. As a general guideline, no fewer than six will be named. The semi-finalists will be interviewed by a team consisting of the high school principal, guidance counselor, and two or three individuals designated by the Carl D. Schillig Memorial Fund, Inc. The decision of this selection panel is final. The winner will be announced at the senior annual awards assembly held in the spring, at each school.

bottom of page